Mirrored Realities

May 17th, 2011 Tuesday

This morning I woke up on comfortable bed. After t’ai chi, I ate a breakfast of grilled peanut butter and apples on molasses wheat bread along with what may have been the strongest cup of coffee I have ever had. The combination was excellent. Later on, I was dispatched by Dr. Chip like a messenger of the bicycling nation.

“Definitely try to make it to make it to Monument Valley today”, he instructed.

“Will do”, I replied and hopped on my trusted metal horse after a few more parting remarks.

I flew onto the the route with the renewed vigor of a properly rested man but was slow to start because of a high desert crosswind coming from the Southwest. However, once I turned Eastward, the same wind helped propel me along at an offensive pace. By 1:15 pm, I had made it to Kayenta, covering approximately 45 miles in roughly 3 1/2 hours. Stopping at a Basha’s supermarket, I assembled a hefty footlong kale and turkey sub for the cost of about $2.00. Definitely my new favorite snack.

While in the deli line, I met a fellow biker, Pat, who is also heading to Durango, CO. The coincidence was disturbing. What invisible hand is guiding these encounters? How is it that my paths cross with the exact sort of people I want to meet? Mystery aside, I found out he’s apart of the Durango bike scene and will be residing there for the next week. I tell him I’m arriving in three days. He tells me that he can hook me up with a camp spot. I say “That is most fantastic.” Then he asks me to help him by taking a portion of the hundreds of granola bars he has stashed in his car. Can life get any better?

After a small rest, I biked 25 more miles on a shoulder-less route 163, crossing into south Utah and into Monument Valley, where I met with Chip’s friend, Kenneth, at the visitors center. Kenneth is a really cool guy, so relaxed and at ease that his presence could quell anyone’s inner turmoil. He was able to make arrangements so that could camp in the valley overnight. The excitement I felt was indescribable and I may have thanked him ten times or more.

Throughout the day I pondered a piece of wisdom Dr. Chip dropped on me during my stay. He quoted his former bicycling team mate: “All we need is one good person.” Originally, I thought the quote to mean that only one person is needed to provide physical support during a journey. Many miles and turns later, I now understand it to mean that only one good hearted person is needed to help renew one’s faith in achieving a goal. Even if money is present to acquire the physical necessities, a good person to help boost your drive to follow through is harder to find and cannot be purchased.

To all the good people, thank you. Hopefully the world will mirror your Tao.

Now, besides the relentless wind, I’m going to sleep like a man who just biked 70 miles.

Leave a Reply

