The Day Dares To Question

May 18th, 2011 Wednesday

“Ok, who did the rain dance?”, I asked the nice women at the Monument Valley visitors center. They chuckled and one admitted that she had been praying for rain.

As soon as the drizzle ceased, I raced along route 163 toward Bluff, UT, my destination. As if the absolute lack of shoulder wasn’t enough of a burden, the rain came back with a vengeance. Eventually, it’s friend, hale, joined the party. Riding like this for several miles, I realized I was traveling a path towards hypothermia. Luckily, there was a Navajo jeweler up ahead and he let me take refuge under one of the vacant wooden displays. I was naive not to have put on a raincoat and now I was partially soaked with a rapidly dropping core temperature. Feeling quite powerless, I changed my shirt and stuck 4 hand-warmers to my body. Once the storm blew over, I bought a nice necklace for my mother and received information from the kind-hearted jeweler on where to camp for free safely and was made aware of a short cut to Cortez, CO, called “Road G” that turned left right before entering Aneth, UT.

I took off at top speed to avoid another coming storm that I could see bearing down behind me like a moving wall, stopping only momentarily to look at the road where Forest Gump said, “I’m tired. I think I’ll go home now.” Yeah, that’s on Rt. 163.

So, here I am, once again wiser. Lessons learned: DO NOT let yourself get wet in the rain & don’t bother try the Navajo Taco, it’s not nearly as great as everyone makes it out to be.

Leave a Reply

