A Bad Day In Bike-Land

Tom, owner of Sarti's, is the MAN of Walsenburg, CO - thanks brother!

To put it bluntly, today sucked.

For most people, the difference between a good day and a bad day is minuscule, rooted in the mundane parts of life. When I have a bad day, the difference is huge. What should have been an easily manageable 73 mile trip turned out to be a journey through hell and an exploration of the limits of my emotional control. The 73 miles turned out to be 73 miles with a freak Easterly wind in my face, sapping about 40% of my forward momentum and bringing my progress to a crawl. It was 73 miles of a crumbling 2 lane highway with NO shoulder and juggernaut 18-wheelers blowing by within feet of me. 73 miles of no resources or places to fill up on water. 73 miles of desert (surprise!) and the return of bleached roadside skeletons. 73 miles spent alone with the knowledge that things back home are getting worse on a daily basis while I’m 2,000 miles away.

I passed a pasture of cows in Hawley and screamed “MOOOOOO!”, causing a minor stampede.

My Life-Brother, Josh, gave me a call from Massachusetts and helped rescue my sanity. Thanks, my good man.

But, at the end of the day, I’m still standing, and I fought an honorable fight through to the end. I won’t let anything stop me from achieving my goals.

Leave a Reply

