Another Star

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”
– MLK Jr

Last night I slept beside an abandoned house that looked haunted when I found it. For only two hours, I rested with my back against the wall like a soldier who had fallen asleep during his night-watch. My alarm awoke me at 4:30 PM. I yawned, rubbed my muscles, pounded an energy drink, and then biked 50 miles to Dodge City, KS, in order to avoid the extreme heat of the day and tormenting wind. This is to be my routine while in the Midwest. I’m looking forward to it, as it will afford me a look at the state during the hours I find most interesting, the morning and the evening.

I thought of home while I rode and listened to music. Stevie Wonder’s “Another Star” came on and I suddenly I felt no fatigue. Stevie is amazing.

Beef City - Cow Feed Farm off of US Route 50, Kansas

Leave a Reply

