Sandman

May 30, 2011 Monday

Today, I sat behind a cement wall for an hour, smack dab in the middle of the plains of Kansas. The short wall barely shielded me from the the 40 mph wind gusts and 101 degree heat. It was tough just making it the 25 miles to my midway point of Lakin, KS. While sitting there, with the wind blowing, I was slowly transformed into the Sandman as sand and grit gradually mixed with my sunscreen and sweat. Fortunately, I was able to have a good conversation with my brother, but, I swore to myself to never bike through Kansas during the day again. The heat and wind just aren’t worth it.

Later on, I found a sufficiently corporate restaurant with little to no employee loyalty and recharged my electrical devices while re-hydrating myself. Two bicyclists from Chicago walked in. We got to talking and I found they were also going across the country! Whoa! Cool! So, we rode together towards our next common destination, Garden City. I suspected that I would not be able to keep up with them, however, it was quite the opposite and I found the pace very pleasant. It was so nice having other people to ride with and it was very motivating to to keep pace with someone. However, we parted ways at the end of the ride.

The wolf bikes alone again.

Leave a Reply

