100 Miles

June 10, 2011 Friday

The last 16 miles were ridden on the Katy Trail in nearly complete darkness except for the holy light of my light beam projecting from the front of the bike. Trees curled up and around the old train trestle I road upon, creating the feeling of riding through a tunnel made of vegetation. I caught glances of the flood-level Missouri River to my right and heard cries of animals that sounded like feral humans.

Without stretching the truth of the situation, lighting was striking the area all around me, hinting at the onset of a huge storm. As soon as I reached my nightly destination, the skies opened and poured rain.

I had ridden from mile marker 145 to mile marker 45. Jefferson City to Greens Bottom. 100 miles. Hell yeah.

Leave a Reply

